Connect with us

PSL 2023 Schedule, Teams, Venues & Format (Pakistan Super League)

Pakistan super league (PSL) is one of the most popular T20 leagues around the globe. The league’s 8th edition (PSL 8) will be played in February 2023. According to PSL 2023 schedule, the tournament will begin on 9th February. A total of (34) matches including the finale will be played in the T20 league. PSL 2023 will be hosted in Pakistan in (4) different stadiums.

Video – PSL 2023 Schedule
PSL 2023
PSL 2023 Schedule, Teams, Venues & Squads

PSL 2023 Schedule

PSL 8 will start on 9th February 2023 and the final will be played on 19th March 2023. 34 matches (30 group matches, 1 Qualifier, 2 Eliminators) will be played.

The official schedule hasn’t been announced by Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) yet. We’ll update it here as soon as it is announced.

DateDayTimeMatch DetailsVenue
9-Feb-2023ThursdayTBCTBC vs TBC – Match 1TBC
19-Mar-2023SundayTBCTBC vs TBC – FinalTBC
PSL 2023 Schedule

PSL 2023 Teams:

Six (6) teams will take part in the league.

  • Lahore Qalandars (Defending champions)
  • Multan Sultans
  • Peshawar Zalmi
  • Islamabad United
  • Quetta Gladiators
  • Karachi Kings
PSL 2023 Teams
PSL 2023 Teams

Team Captains

  • Shaheen Afridi (Lahore Qalandars)
  • Sarfaraz Ahmad (Quetta Gladiators)
  • Shadab Khan (Islamabad United)
  • Wahab Riaz (Peshawar Zalmi)
  • Mohammad Rizwan (Multan Sultans)
  • TBC (Karachi Kings – as Babar Azam has left KK)

PSL 2023 Format

Dates9th Feb 2023 to 19th March 2023
Cricket FormatTwenty 20
Tournament FormatDouble round-robin and playoffs
Host Pakistan
Participating Teams6
Total Matches34
AdministratorPakistan Cricket Board (PCB)

Defending Champions

Lahore Qalandars – the defending champions managed to win the first league title after waiting for 7 long years under the captaincy of star Shaheen Shah Afridi. They defeated Multan Sultans by 42 runs and became the champions.

PSL Winners (2016-2022)

Season (Edition)WinnerRunner-upResult
2016 (1st)Islamabad UnitedQuetta GladiatorsISBU won by 6 wickets
2017 (2nd)Peshawar ZalmiQuetta GladiatorsPZ won by 58 runs
2018 (3rd)Islamabad United Peshawar ZalmiISBU won by 3 wickets
2019 (4th)Quetta GladiatorsPeshawar ZalmiQG won by 8 wickets
2020 (5th)Karachi KingsLahore QalandarsKK won by 5 wickets
2021 (6th)Multan SultansPeshawar ZalmiMS won by 47 runs
2022 (7th)Lahore QalandarsMultan SultansLQ won by 42 runs

Islamabad united has won 2 titles most by any team. The remaining teams have won the title once only.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ’s)

Q. What is the date of PSL 2023?

Answer: PSL 2023 will start on 9th February 2023.

Q. How many games do you have to play for a team in PSL?

Each team will play 2 matches against each other in a double round-robin format

Q. Who is the most successful team in PSL?

Answer: Islamabad United is the most successful team in PSL. They have won the title twice.

You may like to see the following:

PSL 2023 Points table


More in Psl Pakistan Super League