Connect with us

Ipl Indian Premier League

IPL 2023 Schedule, Teams, Format, Groups, Venues & Fixtures

IPL 2023

Indian Premier League’s (IPL) 16th edition will be played in the last week of March 2023. The preliminary dates for IPL 2023 schedule are 25th March 2023 to 28 May 2023. With the addition of two teams in the 15th edition of the tournament IPL 2023 will have 10 teams. Seventy-four matches (70 league matches & four playoffs) will be played in 65 days.

2023 Indian Premier League (IPL)

IPL Schedule 202325-Mar-2023 to 28-May-2023 (preliminary)
AdministratorBoard of control for Cricket in India (BCCI)
IPL ChairmanBrijesh Patel
Cricket FormatT20
Tournament FormatDouble round-robin group stage and playoffs
Participant Teams10
Total Matches74
Prize Money46.5 crores (446 Million Indian Rupee approx.)
Defending ChampionsGujrat Titans
Venues9 (expected)
BCCI Official

IPL 2023 Schedule

The 16th edition of the tournament is anticipated to begin in the last week of March and continue till the end of May 2023. 10 teams will be participating in the most popular T20 league. The opening match of IPL 16 is expected to be played between the defending champion Gujrat Titans and Rajasthan Royals.

ipl 2023 schedule

IPL 2023 Teams

IPL 2023 Teams

Teams, Captains & Head Coaches

Just like the last edition 10 teams will participate in the most popular and watched T20 league in the world. Here is the list of all teams, captains & their head coaches:

#IPL TeamCaptainHead Coach
1Gujrat Titans (Defending Champions)Hardik Pandya Ashish Nehra
2Rajasthan RoyalsSanju SamsonKumar Sangakkara
3Lucknow Super GiantsKL RahulAndy Flower
4Royal ChallengersFaf du PlessisSanjay Bangar
5Delhi CapitalsRishabh PantRicky Ponting
6Punjab KingsShikhar DhawanTrevor Bayliss
7Kolkata Knight RidersShreyas IyerChandrakant Pandit
8Sunrisers HyderabadTBD Brian Lara
9Chennai Super KingsMS DhoniStephen Fleming
10Mumbai IndiansRohit SharmaMahela Jayawardene

IPL 2023 Format

Ten teams playing in the Indian Premier League will be divided in groups of two, five teams each playing against the other in the double round-robin format followed by a playoff stage and the final.

The format is similar to the one used in the 2011 tournament when ten teams featured for the first time in the tournament. During the league phase, every team played 14 matches.

Each team will play 14 matches (seven home and seven away) in the group stage. The top 4 teams in the points table will qualify for playoffs.

IPL 2023 Groups

10 teams will be divided in 2 virtual groups of five teams. The groups will most probably be announced on 23 January 2023 by BCCI. The 15th edition groups were; Group A (1. Mumbai Indians, 2. Kolkata Knight Riders, 3. Royal Challengers, 4. Delhi Capitals, 5. Lucknow Super Giants) Group B (6. Chennai Super Kings, 7. Sunrisers Hyderabad, 8. Royal Challengers Bangalore, 9. Punjab Kings, 10. Gujrat Titans)

IPL 2023 Venues

Venues for IPL 16 are yet to be announced by the BCCI administration. Most probably the tournament will be played in nine stadiums. Here’s the list of the grounds for IPL 2023.

1. M. A. Chidambaram StadiumChennai50,000
2. Arun Jaitley StadiumDelhi41,842
3. M. Chinnaswamy StadiumBengaluru40,000
4. Narendra Modi StadiumAhmedabad132,000
5. Wankhede StadiumMumbai33,108
6. D Y Patil Sports StadiumMumbai60,000
7. Punjab Cricket Association StadiumMohali27,000
8. Sawai Mansingh StadiumJaipur30,000
9. Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket StadiumHyderabad55,000

IPL Winners History

YearWinnerWon ByRunner Up
2022Gujarat Titans7 wicketsRajasthan Royals
2021Chennai super kings27 runsKolkata Knight Riders
2020Mumbai Indians5 wicketsDelhi Capitals
2019Mumbai Indians1 runChennai Super Kings
2018Chennai Super Kings8 wicketsSunrisers Hyderabad
2017Mumbai Indians1 runRising Pune Supergiants
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad8 runsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2015Mumbai Indians41 runsChennai Super Kings
2014Kolkata Knight Riders3 wicketsKings XI Punjab
2013Mumbai Indians23 runsChennai Super Kings
2012Kolkata Knight Riders5 wicketsChennai Super Kings
2011Chennai Super Kings58 runsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2010Chennai Super Kings22 runsMumbai Indians
2009Deccan Chargers6 runsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2008Rajasthan Royals3 wicketsChennai Super Kings

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Q. Will IPL 2023 have 12 teams?

Answer: IPL will have ten teams just like the previous (2022) edition.

Q. Will there be IPL player auction in 2023?

Answer: The auction date for the IPL players is in the month of December this year. The auction will confirm the players in the ten teams for 2023.

Q. How many matches will be there in IPL 2023?

Answer: 74 matches will be played in the league. 70 group stage matches, 4 playoffs

Q. When will the 2023 IPL season begin?

Answer: The IPL 2023 is expected to begin in the last week of march (preliminary date: 25 March 2023)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Ipl Indian Premier League